## **ORDINANCE NO. 6045**

## AN ORDINANCE AMENDING FAIRBANKS GENERAL CODE SECTION 2-232(a), FAIRBANKS DIVERSITY COUNCIL COMPOSITION; TERMS OF OFFICE

WHEREAS, the Fairbanks Diversity Council (FDC) was established on March 10, 2014 by the City Council's adoption of Ordinance No. 5939; and

WHEREAS, the Fairbanks General Code states that the FDC will consist of 15 public voting members broadly selected to represent the diverse people of Fairbanks, eight of whom must be City residents; and

WHEREAS, it appears that the FDC may be better served by broadening the scope of membership to increase and allow more flexibility in community participation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAIRBANKS, ALASKA, as follows:

<u>SECTION 1</u>. Fairbanks General Code Section 2-232(a) is hereby amended as follows [new text in <u>underlined bold</u> font; deleted text in <del>strikethrough</del> font]:

## Sec. 2-232. FDC – Composition; term of office.

(a) The FDC shall include 15 public voting members broadly selected to represent the diverse people of Fairbanks. Twelve <u>community</u> members, at least eight of whom must be residents of the City of Fairbanks, shall be appointed by the City Mayor subject to the approval of the City Council. Three <u>community</u> members shall be appointed by the Fairbanks North Star Borough Mayor subject to the approval of the Fairbanks North Star Borough Assembly. <u>Preference for City-appointed</u> <u>positions shall be given to residents of the City of Fairbanks</u>. All appointments of the public members shall be for three-year terms, without compensation. The term of members shall be until June 30 of the third year from appointment. The first members of the commission shall be appointed in staggering terms that end on June 30 as follows: five members for a term of one year, five members for a term of two years, and five members for a term of three years.

SECTION 2. That the effective date of this Ordinance shall be the 29 day of April 2017.

Jim Matherly, City Mayor

YEAS: Norum, Cleworth, Rogers, Huntington, Therrien, PruhsNAYS: NoneABSENT: NoneADOPTED: April 24, 2017

ATTEST:

D. Danyielle Snider, CMC, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Paul J. Ewers, City Attorney