Aurora Award Presented

Last Friday evening was the Explore Fairbanks Annual Awards Banquet, at Birch Hill.   One of the awards presented was the Aurora Award.  The Aurora Award is presented to an individual, local public official, organization, business or corporation for consistently exceptional contributions to the development and/or increase of the Fairbanks visitor industry.

Jeff Jacobson, the Chief of Staff for the City of Fairbanks, was honored with the Aurora Award.   Jeff grew up in Palmer, Ketchikan, Fairbanks and North Pole.  He strongly supports lifelong learning and encourages young and old alike to be adventurous and explore new things, new places and new adventures.

Jeff strongly believes in giving back to his community by serving on a variety of boards and commissions.  For many years he has supported the Visitor Industry’s Walk for Charity by forming teams to walk the “4K Graze”.  In 2010, he headed up the bid and organizing committees for the Fairbanks 2014 Arctic Winter Games.  That responsibility grew into his serving as the President of the Fairbanks 2014 Arctic Winter Games Host Society.

Jeff served four terms on the North Pole City Council and an additional three terms as the Mayor of the City of North Pole.  Following a 27 year teaching career, he began his next adventure as Chief of Staff for the Fairbanks North Star Borough in 2010.  Recently, he became Chief of Staff for the City of Fairbanks.

Throughout his tenure in local government and continuing today, Jeff has been an advocate for communities and cities as well as the tourism industry.  The City of Fairbanks congratulates Jeff for his outstanding service to the community.

Jeff Jacobson